the new guy

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2005, 08:53 PM
tow-joe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
the new guy

hey fellas...im glad to finally find some people that know a thing or two about fe blocks. I just recently got started in my engines class..this is my first year of collage. My instructor said we could bring in our own engines and build them to our hearts desire. So I was pretty stoked and realized I would much rather rebuild a v8 than the slant six in my van...So I hauled a 360 out of my neighbors 71 ford pickup which had been sitting for like 12 years. I got it to school...engine looks really good inside with the exception of main bearings taking a good hit. it had 80,000 miles on it. Well heres the thing...I want to build some performance into it....but I dont want to shoot my wallet with buckshot. I would like to do the stroking with bigger crank and longer rods...I don't know how much used parts for that would cost and whether or not I should buy them pre machined/treated or have our instructor's machinist do it....(he swears by him)....if I do stroke I would like the 428 crank and a set of 390 rods ...will I have to make any stock piston or head changes..differant main caps????.I already know im gonna have to do some oil mods...by the way...any suggestions other than wats on the Basic FE Oiling Mods page? I would like to be able to run regular gas in it with this setup...???? input would be gracioucly apreciated...o ya, application for the engine...I dont think its going back into that michigan ford body cause honestly the body looks pretty rusted...so I guess I'll throw er in something sweet or sell it after we are done with the rebuild

Old 11-02-2005, 04:15 AM
FFR428
Needsmorecoffee.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post