Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Locker questions

Old 10-17-2005, 06:54 PM
Iceman_19
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Locker questions

Ok, I have to replace the gears in my Dana 44 up front. While I am doing this, I figure I may as well put in a locker while I am at it. What is a good locker? Would prefere to pay less then more, but who wouldn't. Anyways, all opinions on the subject would be fantastic.

Also, for the rear end, what would be a better choice? A locker, or a good LSD? I daily drive the truck, so a spool probably wouldn't be a good idea.

Old 10-17-2005, 07:03 PM
qaswq
New User
Total newbie question here, and I have wondered this for sometime.

What is a spool?

Thanks

Old 10-17-2005, 07:54 PM
fishmanndotcom
Lead Driver
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
do you want an automatic locker? or selectable? or a limited slip?

well in a normal factory open differential this is how everything works inside

http://images.encarta.msn.com/xrefme...t/T623706A.gif

well a spool eliminates the 4 spider gears that allow the axle to differentiate in turns. it locks both axle shafts so that they are always turning no matter what

they are VERY hard to beat offroad b/c there is nothing to break and they are very reliable. instead of buying a spool i welded up both my front and rear axles to act as a spool.

-cutts-

Old 10-17-2005, 09:09 PM
Iceman_19
Freshman User
Well, I know how a spool and a locker work, but I am out to lunch on how a locker would work on thefront on a 4x4. Would it be locked when disengaged and engaged in 4x4? I mean, I know power only goes to the front wheels when its in 4wd, but what would happen when you are tooling around in 2wd? As for the automatic locker, and selectable, what do you mean? Do you mean those electronic ones? I would prefere not to go that way because of price. I would think a detroit locker in the rear would be good, as the wratcheting noise wouldnt bother me, my truck is loud anyways.

Old 10-17-2005, 09:32 PM
fishmanndotcom