390 Oil Pressure problem (less than 5 at hot idle)

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2005, 10:16 AM
terry02
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
390 Oil Pressure problem (less than 5 at hot idle)

I have a 390 with a new standard Melling pump. The heads are stock and with all new parts and built by a pro. I have a Ford Racing oil pressure guage and have tried two sending units with the same results--very low pressure at hot idle. Now I have a squeal coming from the front of the motor--with all belts off--at hot idle. Sounds like a dry bearing to my untrained ear. Could someone please give me a list of things to try? HV pump or 6 quarts of oil or bigger oil pan or??? I am not too technical and have little available help where I live (in the mountains of Colorado0 so I sure would appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks.

Old 10-05-2005, 12:35 PM
rusty70f100
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Is it a newly rebuilt motor or old used one?
What weight oil are you running?
What is your oil pressure hot at 2000rpm?

If old used motor:
How many miles?
Any other knocks, rattles?
Does it run ok otherwise?

If newly rebuilt:
Did you break in the cam properly?
What were your bearing clearances?
Did you use oil restrictors in the head oil passage up to the rocker shafts?

I'm just full of questions. It's the only way to accurately determine a problem over the internet.

Old 10-05-2005, 02:50 PM
FFR428
Needsmorecoffee.

You might have sucked a piece of debris into the pump/pickup possibly.
The new pump might have metal debris inside it blocking flow or causing it to bind.
Check pickup to pan depth.
The pump or pickup might have come loose (bolts) don't laugh this happened to me once.
What were the issues before the new pump was installed??
As rusty asked new or old build??? etc....???

G.

Old 10-05-2005, 03:15 PM
Bear 45/70
Post Fiend
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts