transmission question for 226 flathead 6

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2005, 07:54 PM
hissonut1
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy transmission question for 226 flathead 6

I am new to the flathead forum and new to flatheads in general. I have a 1950 226 flathead 6 that I have resently bought from a local antique auto parts dealer to put into a vintage dirt track sprinter that I am restoring. The car originally ran this engine and was fairly successful. My question is about transmissions. I want to use the 41 to 47 style trans but I am having trouble locating one. Is the V-8 and 6 trans the same or at least interchangable? I really need a flathead 6 expert to steer me the right way. Help!
I have photos of the car past and present I can e-mail to anyone interested.

Jeff
Coal Valley, IL.

Old 09-14-2005, 05:36 AM
IB Tim
Site Administrator
Received 57 Likes on 30 Posts
...Welcome Jeff, to Ford Truck Enthusiasts!
Stick around someone will be by shortly to answer your question.
We are happy you have chosen the best source for Fords!

Enjoy FTE....and
JOIN CLUB FTE -SUPPORT THE FORUMS!
…..See you on the boards.

Old 09-15-2005, 07:36 PM
jboren
Freshman User
While the actual transmissions may be the same you will have to have it mated to a bellhousing from a 6. There are some differences between the 6 and the 8 as far as the bellhousing to engine mounting pattern. Kinda hard to explain. They are similar but just different enough not to interchange. I have a 3 speed that will bolt up to a 6. It is from a 49 F-1. As far as I know it is good but it weighs a bunch. If you are interested I am in north alabama.

Old 09-15-2005, 11:07 PM
51ford fan
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts