Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Used truck blues, emissions already butchered. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2005, 11:28 PM
Radiatelike88
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Used truck blues, emissions already butchered. Help!

Hello everyone!
I just bought an 88 5.0 C6 F150 Custom. I got a rediculously good deal because the guy said that the engine had thrown a rod and was frozen. I had every intention of swapping in a carbed 351W, untill I discovered that the nosecone had broken off the starter, and the engine wasn't really done for. Especially nice since it was supposedly remanufactured with only 15000 or so miles. I'm keeping the 5.0 for the forseeable future, but I'm new to intensive work on EFI.

That isn't to say nothing was wrong with it. The muffler looked like it had been blown up and the tailpipe had rust holes. Both of them got replaced. The engine idles and runs rough. I changed plugs, ignition wires, distributer cap, and rotor to good effect and plugged a few minor vacuum leaks.

Today, I bought a code reader and did the KOEO test, turning up codes 31 and 66 - EGR and IAC trouble. The EGR was completely clogged with crud, and the truck ran much better after I got the worst of it off and freed the valve. Next, I took off the IAC and discovered an uncapped vacuum port on the intake below it. The IAC didn't look jammed up, but I'm cleaning it tomorrow and plugging the vac port. If anyone has any suggestions on where to go from here, I'm all ears.