General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Parents, share this with your kids

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2005, 12:20 PM
ivanribic
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Parents, share this with your kids

Saw this a little while back and thought it was BS. Did some research on Snopes and it turns out it's true, as recorded in the Cleveland paper (happened March 2nd). Not only is this account true but it seems there have been a LOT of deaths caused by this. Share it with your kids and explain it to them . . . seems harmless enough but it isn't, obviously. I think kids don't see it as a drug or as dangerous because it's "just air", not like huffing paint. Anyway, just be careful:

First IM going to tell you a little about me and my family. My name is Jeff. I am a Police Officer for a city which is known nationwide for its crime rate. We have a lot of gangs and drugs. At one point we were # 2 in the nation in homicides per capita. I also have a police K-9 named Thor. He was certified in drugs and general duty. He retired at 3 years old because he was shot in the line of duty. He lives with us now and I still train with him because he likes it. I always liked the fact that there was no way to bring drugs into my house. Thor wouldn't allow it. He would tell on you. The reason I say this is so you understand that I know about drugs. I have taught in schools about drugs. My wife asks all our kids at least once a week if they used any drugs. Makes them promise they wont.