1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

vin number help

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2005, 10:51 PM
metal man
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
vin number help

hey ya'll,
i enjoy reading your responces on all the diff. topics. this is my first time writing in.my 14 yr.old son and i acquired a 55 ford truck.there are no papers on it and the only numbers i can find on the frame are:TAAD5078BMC would this be the vin number i've been desperatly looking for. there are no tags on the truck.it was previously stripped by someone else that gave up on it.thank-you for your help.

Old 07-29-2005, 11:33 PM
WillyB
Post Fiend
I am no expert on VIN numbers - someone will be along shortly to help.

But I did just find mine stamped on the frame - it was on the top of the right frame rail in front of the cab mount, readable from above. It matched the one on the back of the glove box door.

I am cleaning and repainting the frame - I intend to find a way to high-light the number stamped on the frame so anyone can read it. If that is the only number you have you might do the same.

Old 07-29-2005, 11:39 PM
jeff rogers
New User
From what I know (which isn't much) all VIN # are printed on the frame. I am not sure if they still do it or not, but once upon a time they were. More than likely that is the VIN you have been looking for.

Old 07-30-2005, 12:15 AM
Earl
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Welcome to the FTE nut house, metal man. You've found the most informative and fun place to find out about your vintage Ford truck. The folks here are great and you don't have to worry about your 14-year-old son reading the posts - we insist on a family atmosphere.