1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

body filler and primer

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2005, 06:45 PM
WillyB
Post Fiend
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down body filler and primer

Forgive a dumb question, but the last time I did any body work people were using lead and Bondo was new and unproven. Now when I look online to see what is available I see such things as long and short fiber fillers - whatever that is.

Same when I look at primer - tried to buy some sanding primer (lacquer type?) and the clerk looked at me like I was an eco-terrorist. He tried to sell me something with a separate "hardening agent" WTF?

Paint is just as confusing - I can buy 4 quarts of oil-based paint, but not a gallon, according to EPA? Needless to say I live in California.

What do you guys use to fill dents, prime and fill scratches and grinder marks, and what sort of paint can I use?

btw, I am a real shade tree mechanic - not even working on a cement floor. I will not be in a paint booth.

Old 05-01-2005, 09:02 PM
Madathlon
Posting Guru
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by WillyB
Forgive a dumb question, but the last time I did any body work people were using lead and Bondo was new and unproven. Now when I look online to see what is available I see such things as long and short fiber fillers - whatever that is.
This is Glass reinforced, Short is easyer to work with, But Long is much stronger..
Same when I look at primer - tried to buy some sanding primer (lacquer type?) and the clerk looked at me like I was an eco-terrorist. He tried to sell me something with a separate "hardening agent" WTF?
This is a 2 part mixer that does not shrink or crack.. Less needed in the long run and faster drying..

Paint is just as confusing - I can buy 4 quarts of oil-based paint, but not a gallon, according to EPA? Needless to say I live in California.