Why didnt Ford develope the Y block after 1957?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2005, 01:05 PM
phoneman91
Cargo Master
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Why didnt Ford develope the Y block after 1957?

I am no expert about the Y-block--but it seems to me that Ford developed the Y-block up until 1957.And subsequent model years of Y-block--right up to the last year--what was it--1964--the Y-block wasnt further developed--the horsepower ratings never increased and the Y-block remained as a two barrel "entry engine".

Why didnt Ford develop the Y-block beyond 1957? Why wasnt fuel injection developed from the factory ? No more supercharging after 1957? No more displacement increases? No more dual quads? And only small valve two barrels after 1957(except for some 4 barrel heavy duty trucks)?

Is the Y-block not as good as the Chevy small block--that exist even to today?

Why did Ford stop development on the Y-block? Even before the new Ford small block of 221,260,289.302 came out in 1962?

I suspect that Ford missed an opportunity to develop this wonderful engine.

What are your opinions?

Last edited by phoneman91; 02-12-2005 at 01:10 PM.
Old 02-12-2005, 04:14 PM
wild.bunch
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
To answer your question, I would like to disagree with some of your assumptions and gently suggest that you look at things a little differently. Also, take into account what was taking place in teh automotive scene in these years.

First, the trend in cars during the 50s was larger and heavier. The Y was limited in discplacement and this was not a good thing for the larger and heavier cars in the later 50s.

Remember, Ford didn't just compete against Chevy. think of things like this:

At GM, you had a pricing pyramid, where you entered their product like at the Chevy and reached the top in a Cadillac. This worked lin this progression:

1. Cadillac (the top)
2. Buick
3. Oldsmobile
4. Pontiac
5. Chevy