1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

'95 Ranger EGR/Vacuum Leak Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 02:56 PM
bizzy1
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'95 Ranger EGR/Vacuum Leak Help Needed

'95 Ranger is having some serious issues lately. Several months ago I replaced the EGR valve and sensor. I had an extremely difficult time with the valve. One of the bolts was rusted and stripped. In the course of trying to get it off, I probably bent the pipe that leads out of the back of the EGR valve. (Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. My under-the-hood language is pretty weak, so bear with me. I have a picture to show what I'm talking about at the end of this )

Right now the truck is running extremely rough. The first time I start it up, it will high idle for about 7 seconds and then die. I'll start it up again and then it will continue to run, but for a while it will go through a sequence of high idle, then almost die. Once it keeps running without doing that, it still runs very rough.

So, I took it to AutoZone to get a check engine read. It said there was a misfire in #4. Now I did just replace all my plugs, but it was doing this before I change them so I don't think that is what is causing this. The Zone guy thought it sounded like a vacuum leak somewhere, but visually he could not find it.

When I looked at it at home, I can hear what does sound like a hissing sound. When I move up the 'jacket' that is covering the intake pipe? from the EGR valve, the hissing gets muzzled. I know this probably doesn't make sense. Anyway, my thoughts are, since I was messing around so much with the EGR valve and I'm pretty sure that I bent or moved that pipe during the process, I probably caused a leak.