Help - 6cyl engine runs rough

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2005, 09:29 AM
jugheadz
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help - 6cyl engine runs rough

Hey I'm new to Ford trucks. I just got a 2000 F-150 6cyl XLT. It has a new battery and oil change, but not sure when the last tuneup occured.

At pretty much any speed/any gear the car starts to sputter, feels like a cylinder stops firing. The engine runs rough under moderate acceleration, like merging onto a highway. Usually when the throttle is light it stays smooth though not every time. And usually as quickly as the problem occurs it clears up and runs fine again.

So before I pull the plugs this weekend I thought I'd check with the group and see if some of you can point me in the right direction quickly.

I'm inclinded to believe its either the cap/rotor, maybe the plugs or possible the fuel filter. Anyone else have a similar problem before.

Thanks,

J
<!-- / message -->

Old 02-04-2005, 10:59 AM
WVF150VIANC
Senior User
You can eliminate distributor cap and rotor button because it doesn't have them. You have a coil pack.

My 2000 has 106,XXX miles on it and you pretty much just described the way mine runs. I have changed the filter,wires,plugs (Motorcraft OEM is the board favorite, no Bosch) and cleaned MAF to no avail. Maybe, you'll have better luck. Mine will sputter and gasp until the RPMs build up and then will smooth out.

My next step will be to search for vacuum leaks and maybe replace the coil pack. I know I have a vacuum leak because my heat/air will switch from dash vents to the defrost vents on it's own during hard acceleration. I hope that helps.

How many miles on your truck?

Old 02-04-2005, 04:06 PM
jugheadz
New User
I have 98,000 miles on it. It was my brother in law's car so I confirmed with him that this problem is new and that he has only done oil changes and the routine maintenance. So that would mean that the fuel filter has to old and that the coil pack has never been replaced.