cooling/system-tem gauge help

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2006, 05:51 AM
HOTRODSURFER
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
cooling/system-tem gauge help

OK you flat hed gurus,im new to the flathed scene,i have a 53 239,that had an over heating problm,i flushed rad and coolingsystem and installed 160 degree thermostats,my temp gauge reads just past half way to 3/4 -so far hasnt gone all the way to hot,truck is not "bulbling over -or seem to be over heating,maybe afaulty temp sender?? whre should gauge read??

Old 09-05-2006, 01:00 PM
2speed
Senior User
It could read anywhere. The most important thing is to make sure the system is clean and that your radiator has the fan shroud on it!

If you really want to know what's going on, by the $10 water temp gauge and install it in one of the extra ports. See what it says and then take it out if you don't like it.

Old 09-05-2006, 01:16 PM
mtflat
Lead Driver

Received 332 Likes on 256 Posts
Welcome to flathead insanity - you'll get hooked if you're not careful.

Basically what 2speed said. The stock gauges are notoriously innacurate. They give you a general indication of where your temp is relative to your truck. Mine runs just above 3/4 normally and bumps about halfway between 3/4 and H when I push it hard or climb a mountain pass here.

You should run a 180 T-stat. 160 won't let the engine get warm enough to evaporate the contaminants in the oil and causes sludge buildup and increased wear in the engine.

Keep the coolant level about 2" below the top of the rad neck - it needs some room to expand. It'll puke the extra out the overflow tube until it reaches its own point of equilibrium.

If I read your note correctly, you don't have coolant loss or any other signs of overheating. Did you assume it was too hot just because of the gauge reading? If that's the case, put it back together and drive it! If the gauge ever pegs on the hot side, stop immediately and find out why. Otherwise I doubt it is too hot.