2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

This Sucks ... That Sucks

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2005, 09:03 AM
Aubrey3
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This Sucks ... That Sucks

I am a new 04 150 owner. I make my living in technology so I frequent the net and read forums like this often. In general, they are a huge help in that I can talk more intelligently with my dealer when issues come up. So far, that has only been one.

However, what tends to be reported here is often the problems, not as much the pleasures. If you read problem after problem, it is easy to start questioning your purchase.

Over the weekend, I started poking around the net at different forums for different trucks. This was a GREAT thing to do for it is clear that ALL manufacturers have their issues. But what was more interesting was to assess the nature of the problems. I came to the following conclusions:

Chevy: Their problems are all over the place to the point where one forum had to dedicate a separate section to problems and then break that up by component (electracial, brakes, engine ...). There were thousands of post in each section.

Dodge: The post there were all over the map with problems. It was hard to think of a part of the truck that was not raised by someone as an issue.

Nissan: A lot like Dodge in that the problems were all over the board. The scarier thing about that forum was that people were commenting on major components (engine oil consumption, tranny ...).

Toyota (The Tundra is almost a truck): In general, Toyota seemed to do pretty well.

Ford: Mostly the vibration and clutch pack issues. If you pull those two out, most other issues were minor or sporadic.

Finally, I watched the entire Ford "The Truth About Trucks" video.