Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Should I trust Pep Boys to flush the tranny

Old 12-21-2004, 07:02 PM
westladog
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I trust Pep Boys to flush the tranny

I'm thinking of having Pep Boys do my tranny service. I just need the fluids changed out. Should I trust them with this?

Old 12-21-2004, 07:59 PM
TN-W124 Diesel
Elder User
No!!

I would trust Ammoco...

Old 12-21-2004, 08:03 PM
Saguaro_7.3
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I personally would not, at least not where I am. I've used Pep boys for different things. I buy my tires there. In the past I have used them for several different things. Simple things, ok. I once had a small motor home - '72 Ford 1 ton. Had the transmission fluid changed among other things. When I got it back it didn't shift right. I'm not a mechanic, but I've owned Ford trucks for years. All trucks from 1/2 ton pickups F-350's to F-600 dump trucks. I know when something is wrong. The guy left out some simple part. After dealing with the *** they called the manager, telling me that because it was an older truck, changing the fluid was the cause, they found the part laying on the concrete. Put it back in and shifted fine. I would do it yourself or find an independent who has a good reputation.

Old 12-21-2004, 08:07 PM
realhp
Senior User
If your Pep Boys is anything like mine here I would not take my truck to them. I had a friend that had them change a water pump and when they did the job they did not put a radiator hose on right and a day later it came off and lost all the antifreeze and blew the head gaskets and they did not want to take care of the damages but were willing to charge $800.00 to fix it. Yeah right. Just my opinion take it for what it is worth.

Old 12-21-2004, 08:44 PM
kilapapipa
Senior User
You can do it. You can do it. You can do it. You can do it. Try it yourself. You will know it is done right and you can get great directions off this site and others.