Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

93 explorer Tranny and 4x4 and cruise question

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2004, 09:55 AM
dacrazyman
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 93 explorer Tranny and 4x4 and cruise question

Hi all This is my first time posting. It seems the 91-9? explorer have very similar problems. here's mine.

#1 transmission a4ld. Gets stuck in lock-up. had tranny fluid changed which it needed. still stuck in lockup. I was able to manually shift into neutral and slow or stop truck and it would be fine. it has since fixed itself (probably the fluid). I am still planning a valve box rebuild. Its an expensive thing and I hope it helps or fixes it.

# 2 cruise didn't work then it did now it doesn't Help!!!

# 3 4x4 electronic used to engage and low. now it doesn't
I like the truck just wish the ghosts would leave it.

any help is very appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Old 12-17-2004, 12:28 PM
87 XLT
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wenever you work on your truck always start with the simple stuff first. It doesnt get any simpler than pulling trouble codes. Hook up your scanner & see if you get a code such as 652, "modulated lock up solenoid circuit failure" or whatever, and go from there.

Old 12-17-2004, 12:42 PM
dacrazyman
New User