General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

A good dog, a good story.

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2004, 01:48 AM
wezol5484
Postmaster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A good dog, a good story.

I was readin around on the net and came upon this story about a German Shepard that went to aid in the war in Vietnam. Made me realize how much I miss my 2 dogs.

am Fast Larry and I graduated from high school in 1961. I became 1-a and subject to the draft. The next year I married my high school sweetheart, got married, and entered college. I went to 2-a. When I got out of college in 1965, I now had 2 kids and went to 3-a. They did not draft married men with a family then. I just came of age, between wars & conflicts. I was willing and able to serve my country in our military, I was never called on to serve.

I went to work for a former war hero, who flew in the Battle of Britain during WWII and made war movies after the conflict. He was a former full bird colonel and I was now running his company for him. I had now bought a home, had our 3rd child, and bought a German Shepherd. We named him Moose, because he had big feet, and later hit 100 lbs, which is large for a male.

He did a wonderful job, protecting my little children as they grew up around him as babies. If another child would grab one of my children in play, Moose would run over & grab his arm, and gently pull him away, never hurting the other child, but protecting his family. He was a beautiful dog, pure bred. German Shepherds have been guard dogs & war dogs for the German Wehrmacht for 2 centuries. As a guard dog they are the best. There is an old saying, if you want true loyalty, don’t get a woman, go buy a German Shepherd.