Notices

Rhino Spray-In Bed vs. Ford Drop-In Bed liner

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2004, 05:19 PM
bobdeeharley
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Rhino Spray-In Bed vs. Ford Drop-In Bed liner

I am a newbie and am currently waiting on an 05 F-250 Super Duty that I ordered on Friday. I know that I will want some type of bed liner and don't have a clue as to what the differences are. The Ford salesman who was not pushy at all said that the Ford one is around $185 and is guaranteed for the life of the vehicle and the Rhino one is $300. Interested in any opinions as to which is better and if Rhino is it worth the price difference which is close to twice as much. Thanks.

Old 11-22-2004, 05:46 PM
2000psd
Junior User
bobdeeharley, I have the Ford drop in liner that also covers the top of the box. I am quite happy with it as I don't get any scratches when I throw on 50 bales of hay. However as the end of the liner is screwed in you can get get water between the liner and the frame and rust can develop.

Also, and I am guessing here, the drop in bed liner may be easier to clean out with its ribbed bottom as opposed to the rhino surface. Just my .02 tho.

Old 11-23-2004, 08:37 AM
TruckDaddy
Elder User
Well, the worst thing you could put in the bed is a drop-in. The only advantage of a drop in over a spray-in is price.

Drop-ins can:
1. Trap water and debis.
2. Rattle.
3. Warp.
4. Since they move, they will rub the paint off in spots.
5. Can't be repaired.
6. They can fly out of the bed. Read Durakon's (largest manufacturer of drop ins) recall on their website.