1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

Help with horrible interior color. Please.

Old 10-30-2004, 01:44 AM
gray0072
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Help with horrible interior color. Please.

1998 Super Cab 4 cyl 5 speed Red

I love my truck, and I want to drive it for a long time, one problem, the crud brown interior! I comprimised when I bought it and now have serious regrets. I can't stand the color inside. I am willing to do almost anything to change the color to grey. Can I find a salvage ranger and do a complete swap? Can I paint all of the plastic parts, then do the carpet myself, swap some grey buckets for my split bench, and have a pro do my headliner(I have no experience with upholstery)? Anyone else attempted to completly change the color of their interior? I'm handy enough that door panels don't scare me, I could do those. As far as painting and stuff goes, I have no problem doing things a piece at a time. In fact I have to have my truck for work so it has to be drivable 5 days a week. I already searched the forum and had trouble finding specific info on a total color change. If you have answers to any of these questions or can point me to threads that do, any help is appreciated! Thank you, these forums have been so helpful to date I anxoiusly await your response!

Old 10-30-2004, 03:19 AM
Help I M Stuck
Posting Guru
being it's a 98..i doubt a donor vehicle is going to be easy to find...but it's a good way to go. I've painted body interior parts before..and they actually come out good. So painting the plastic is an option...what i would do is go to a junkyard and get a interior plastic trim piece and practice painting on that. Then when you are comfortable with it..go to town on yours..piece by piece. You can always order aftermarket carpet set for your truck from JC Whitney. I think they even sell headliners now also. with a little time and effort you can do it.

Old 10-30-2004, 03:31 AM
gray0072
New User