2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2004, 06:18 AM
hermit
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Torque

I don't mean to come across like an idiot, but can someone please explain what *torque* is? I have a general idea, but I am not a mechanic and it seems every truck commercial on TV, and programs dedicated to trucks there is a lot of emphasis put on torque. If someone can explain it in layman's terms I sure would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Rich

Old 10-24-2004, 06:25 AM
MotorPsycho
Senior User
Check this link

http://vettenet.org/torquehp.html

It's a good primer.

Old 10-24-2004, 06:45 AM
tonyw4z1l
Junior User
OK, so what's the advantage of low end torque? I notice that Chevy says "more horsepower than Ford" with no mention of torque so there must be trade offs. My guess is that off the line torque wins but over distance horsepower wins. Would be nice to know all the trade offs, milage, red line, compression ratio, reliability. Any gear heads out there with more info?

Old 10-24-2004, 09:10 AM
Firemarshall
Freshman User
Originally Posted by hermit
I don't mean to come across like an idiot, but can someone please explain what *torque* is? I have a general idea, but I am not a mechanic and it seems every truck commercial on TV, and programs dedicated to trucks there is a lot of emphasis put on torque. If someone can explain it in layman's terms I sure would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Rich
In laymans terms torque can be defined as when a man wakes up in the morning trying to use the restroom and hit the toilet he has to bend over to hit the water

Old 10-24-2004, 10:02 AM
Lee F.
Freshman User