1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Another welding question

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2004, 05:37 AM
Psiclone
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another welding question

After reading the other thread about oxy/acetylene, I started wondering what would be better for someone new to welding. Is Mig better/easier to learn or oxy/acety? I use O/A at work from time to time, but for brazing, not welding. I have no experience welding so this would be my first real attempt. Any suggestions?

Old 10-06-2004, 06:15 AM
fomocojoe101
Senior User
welding 101

If you can braze, you can weld, the principals are the same, in fact I found it harder to learn to braze than to mig or tig weld, of course if you go to a votech school, they will most likely teach you to stick weld first. (cause it' the hardest!!)

Old 10-06-2004, 06:33 AM
GreatNorthWoods
Lead Driver
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Psiclone
After reading the other thread about oxy/acetylene, I started wondering what would be better for someone new to welding. Is Mig better/easier to learn or oxy/acety? I use O/A at work from time to time, but for brazing, not welding. I have no experience welding so this would be my first real attempt. Any suggestions?
Try to learn arc welding first if you can because all other welding will be easy after that. You will never regret learning arc welding because you will use it for the rest of your days. I went to an arc welding class back in the 80s and have used my stick welder for many projects since including the current one. It was the best move I ever made...

Vern

Old 10-06-2004, 07:11 AM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts