General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Need opinions, advice!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2004, 12:34 PM
Super Uke
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need opinions, advice!!

This might be a little long, but here it goes.
I've been working in the oilfield (buildings) ever since I can remember. Started in summers doing little jobs painting steel, drilling steel braces, etc. After I graduated high school I worked full time for two years before going secondary college for my finance diploma. I then went back to the same company to work in the office doing drawings, quoting and anything that had to be done. The company is a small business with 3 people running the operations (I'm one of them) and 30 employees for fabricating and installations. The money isn't too bad, but not great considering the hours I put in (approx. 3000 hrs/yr). In all my years working I have yet to come to work late, haven't called in sick in 11 yrs and I have only taken my 2 weeks holidays once (my honeymoon)..this was 8 yrs ago. With only 3 people in the office, actually only 2 because the 3rd leaves by 9:00 to measure jobs, it makes it tough to take time off because of the work load. The owners are the other 2 people and they don't take time off much either, 3-4 days here and there and afternoons.