Sponsored by:

Wheel wiggle

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2004, 08:37 PM
onestrangebroncoII
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Wheel wiggle

i gotz a 1986 broncoII 4x4 2.9 5 speed on 33x 12.50 stock except a little fender chop my brakes started acting up so i pulled the left rear wheel to see was up and the rear axle moves in and out about an inch or two what is going on????

i am a fair mechanic but i have never worked on rear ends (or drum brakes)....
i got good tools and love to work on em myself but rearends are not familiar at all and i am a fraid to even drive this thing to the garage.....plus i don't want to spend a ton of loot on something simple i can fix myself

Old 09-22-2004, 08:42 PM
monsterbaby
Hotshot

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Does this thing move at all?, that should be a C clip axle, but if you dropped a clip you should be able to pull the axle all the way out, plus the only way it should come out is if the pin came out which I have never seen happen with major explosions, so almost sounds like maybe you shattered a side gear, and if you did you shouldn't be able to move the truck under it's own power.

Old 09-22-2004, 08:52 PM
onestrangebroncoII
Junior User
Exclamation

yeah it rolls right along i crawled under the ole bronco to check the brakes and found fluid on the inside of the left tire... so i turned my truck around and put her on level ground and pulled off the left tire and discovered the axle is wiggling in and out about an inch or so..........i can't pull the whole axle out but i am afraid if i drive it to a mechanic it will fly off and kill someone........any ideas

Old 09-22-2004, 09:05 PM
monsterbaby
Hotshot