Iowa Chapter Join Chapter, Leader:

tuneing my 390 & tranny questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2004, 10:17 PM
fordloverf2501970
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
tuneing my 390 & tranny questions

anybody here any good at setting up a 390 ? i have it timed at 6, but it seems to lack the punch if you know what i mean. i am no stranger to working on cars but i am no expert at setups. the carb which is new came off my 360, do i need to rejet it for the 390 or change some of the settings ? i know nothing of this. i could use someone who be willing to get hands on with my 390 and help me get it running smooth. and on another note, my kick down lever seems to want to stay in the down postion, it wont spring back up. i called dougs and he said something about the clip coming off. is this an easy thing to put back togather ? other then that the tranny is fine besides the fact that it needs the gasket replaced and seems to be leaking out the rear. is this seal easy to change, i have a short shaft bolt on shaft.

Old 08-28-2004, 10:04 AM
fellro86
Hotshot
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would guess that you need a little more flow on the carb to start with. Is the mechaniocal advance working right? id you put in a higher performance cam? All things to thionk about. Also, did you go through the carb/ it may need the accelerator pump replaced, or at least change the position on the cam to give her more squirt. I'm nop expert, but it may be doable to come over and give a hand, never know, fresh hands and mind may find the problem. As for the trans, if there's no spring back at the trans, it will require the pan to be taken off to work on it. Taking the tail off is no different than doing a th400 with a bolt on yoke.

Old 08-28-2004, 12:08 PM
monsterbaby
Hotshot

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts