1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Help me get rid of the engine code light!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2004, 11:29 AM
mrcards
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Help me get rid of the engine code light!!!!

I have written previously about a 1993 E-150 custom van. It was running poorly, flashing code 51. I ended up changing the o2 sensor, the air charge temp sensor,the water temp sensor and none of those fixed the problem. I was then told to change the fuel pressure regulator and sure enough....it worked! The van ran great for about two weeks and then the fuel pump died.
I was finally able to get a fuel pump from Ford and replaced it....the van runs great, but no matter what I do....the air bag light keeps flashing code 51. I have just about had it with Ford. I am a certified mechanic and have been following a Ford service rep's advice all along on this vehicle. Putting it on the : computer has not reset the brain.....driving it after repairs has not reset the brain....leaving it sit with the battery doisconnected for a day has not reset the brain..........this customer is ready to kill me. The check engine light has stopped coming on but like I said...the air bag light is still flashing 51. What gives? I'm ready to take the bulb out or paint over it...hahahahaha.

Old 08-17-2004, 07:54 PM
Mustang 5.0
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I use black electrical tape to cover the bulb.

ECC 51; ECT sensor fault or circuit open. Engine coolant temp sensor.

IMO, a code scanner works great. $29 for the ECC model. also helps in clearing the cpu

Old 08-17-2004, 08:38 PM
mrcards
Freshman User
I already replaced ALL the sensors and used the code scanner and the SUN Diagnostic computer...........Ford says it should be out......I'm about to put it out.......lol

Old 08-17-2004, 09:12 PM
Mustang 5.0
Senior User
check the wiring?

Old 08-17-2004, 10:18 PM
mrcards
Freshman User