Distributor Seating Problem - 1973 V8 360

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2004, 11:13 PM
jls73
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Distributor Seating Problem - 1973 V8 360

Hello, and thanks for help in advance. I've loitered around the forums since around 98/99 and have found many an answer/idea that has helped out, and I'm hoping someone can help me with my distributor situation...

1) Specs:

1973 Ford F-100 ranger XLT
V8 360
2WD
2 Barrel Carb

Nothing too fancy or special about the entire setup. While a fair number of parts have been replaced/repaired it all looks fairly stock.

2) Background:

I'm not a mechanic by trade and this is the first engine replacement I have ever attempted.

Bought a replacement long block engine from Carquest in San Antonio, TX. They have been very helpful at every step of the way (even when I dropped the old engine off for the core refund and realized that I forgot to pull the mechanism that drive the mechanical fuel pump ).

I have put the entire engine compartment back together, EXCEPT for the distributor.

3) The Situation:

The distributor is apparently not seating correctly. At first I had troubles getting the oil pump shaft to even hook into the bottom of the distributor. After about 3 hours total of me randomly trying to place the distributor in the engine at various parts in the build process the darn thing finally appears to have engaged the oil pump shaft.

If you're still with me at this point go ahead and look in my gallery and you will see 2 pictures of the distributor problem.

However, from everyone that I have talked to (1 Ford house, 2 Carquests, 1 NAPA, 1 Autozone, and 1 partridge in a pear tree) they all believe that the distributor should sink further in until the last circular part of the distributor is flush with the top of the intake manifold.

I am scared to turn the engine over cause it was told to me that if the distributor is not seated correctly then the camshaft? could be damaged.