General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Reccomend A Good Acoustic/Electric Guitar Under $1,000

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2004, 10:51 AM
Nightrain
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reccomend A Good Acoustic/Electric Guitar Under $1,000

I'm in the market for a new or good used acoustic/electric guitar. I have been playing for about 10 years and it seems that over the past year or so, I've really calmed down and started doing more acoustical music than anything.

About 4 years ago, I purchased a used 1996 Gibson Les Paul Studio. I couldn't ask for a better electric guitar. I made my mind up at first to buy a good Gibson acoustic, but for anyone who hasn't viewed their prices lately, 99% of them are $1,500+. I haven't seen one yet, new or used, under $1,250.

My mind is pretty much set with a Takamine. I picked on a few in the music store the other day, and they have a great look and feel. I haven't decided whether I'm going to buy from Musician's Friend or one of the locals. The problem with the local music store is his prices. They're outrageous and he has a reputation of not standing behind what he sells.

If someone could reccomend me a good acoustic/electric guitar, I'd be much appreciative. I mostly make up my own music and play it. It's pretty general stuff. I love a rich tone, with some loudness to it. Also, some depth to the tone doesn't hurt either.

Thanks for any insight .

Nightrain

Last edited by Nightrain; 07-03-2004 at 10:55 AM.
Old 07-03-2004, 12:00 PM
Howdy
Posting Guru
I've got an old Fender Redondo. It's an acoustic that has a head that looks like an electric with the tuners on one side and the strings are fairly close. I have small hands so it works well for me and is good for speed. It's a late 60's early 70's model. I picked it up in Charlotte about 20 years ago at a pawn shop.