Brakes, Steering, Suspension, Tires, & Wheels  

Bending Your Own Brake Lines!!!

Old 06-28-2004, 08:25 PM
77' f-100 ranger xlt
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bending Your Own Brake Lines!!!

Now this may be a dumb question but I need to ask. Now my question is is it hard to bend your own brake lines? The second one was what size of piping should I use? I worked as an electrician and I have bent pipe and I know how to bend pipe. So I quess I was wondering is there a lot of diffrence and is it hard. Past experiences and personal knowledge would be great.

Old 06-28-2004, 09:14 PM
Little Bro
Senior User
Just replaced all the lines on my '66 F250. They are 3/16" lines, so I can't speak to whether larger lines are as workable, but the 3/16" are very malleable. A bender at the autoparts store was kinda spendy, so I used its measurements as a model and built a home-made bender out of plywood and a wooden turned segment of an old couch leg. It worked great, and the project came out fine. Where the radius created by the bender isn't just right, you can modify carefully with your hands. Get or borrow a good double-flare tool, and you're in business. It may be that quite a bit of your project you can do with ready-made lengths of brakeline complete with compression fittings. These aren't very costly. Buy a couple and practice bending before you decide. It's a good idea to survey the routing, number, and lengths of lines you'll replace before you start. Have fun.

Old 06-28-2004, 09:25 PM
rebocardo
Post Fiend
It is easy with a tube bender and a good one with four different sized wheels costs under $30. Doing some vehicles, such as the the front ones in an Aerostar or BII, will give you fits because you have to have the vehicle on a lift to fit them back in because they require a few unique angles and some require the brake line almost vertical when it gets moved around.

Your truck is fairly easy.