1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

rear axle noise?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2004, 02:23 PM
richardvestal
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rear axle noise?

I was hoping to leave the rear axle alone for a while on our 1951 F1 with the 289V8 and the C4 ... but while doing a brake job on the back, I noticed that spinning the rear axle does make a bumping/thumping kind of sound.

I opened the differential up and although there wasn't a lot of lube in there, it does look in decent shape.

I am new to FTE, please tell me that this is a normal sound for these rear ends and that this noise isn't rear bearings. You know I don't want to have to start a new rear end project!

Thanks, Richard

Old 06-11-2004, 05:11 PM
mtflat
Lead Driver

Received 332 Likes on 256 Posts
Richard, welcome.
It should make a whirring sound - grinding, thumps and bumps aren't good. Look for something loose that's slopping back and forth excessively. If you can't see where it's moving, have someone else turn it while you listen. If you still can't pinpoint the spot, hold your hand on various parts while it turns. Eventually you'll find where the bump originates. Good luck. Let us know what you find.

Last edited by mtflat; 06-11-2004 at 05:14 PM.
Old 06-13-2004, 12:53 AM
1low50
Senior User
How much metal did you find? and when you spin the wheels try disconecting the driveshaft. Mine sounded like that at first but I waited and then my truck ended up tilting from side to side because the ring and pinon went out. Have you had any lumps or spots where it felt like the wheels were not turning?

Old 06-13-2004, 09:35 AM
57_ford
Elder User
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
You may want to also check the rear axle outer wheel bearings.

Old 06-13-2004, 06:51 PM
richardvestal
Junior User
1951 F1 rearend update

Thanks very much for the input!

Let me tell you what we found.