Blown Fuse or 3 In 2001 Ranger

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2004, 04:27 AM
Fordyo
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Blown Fuse or 3 In 2001 Ranger

I am new to the America truck scene as I have always owned Japanese cars and because of this I have not been successful installing my new Panasonic ghost cd player. I correctly spliced the wires from the deck directly to the stock wires bypassing a wiring harness,(my first mistake). When I goto reconnect the battery cable it blows the radio fuse instantly. Are the stock radio power wires too weak to handle the new deck and if so is there another power wire I should tap into? Please help becuase Circuit City wants way too much to install it and I am too poor.
Thanks, Fritz

Last edited by Fordyo; 06-09-2004 at 04:29 AM. Reason: can't spell
Old 06-09-2004, 11:27 AM
RICE H8R
Elder User
i had to do that same thing in my f-150 and it seemed to work. spliced into all the wires...i could not get a wiring harness for it being the closest store is 50 miles one way. the only problem i had was the continous 12v source did not work for some reason. easy fix i just ran a new power wire to the battery, put a fuse in between, and its worked fine ever since. im using a pioneer deh-p6400 deck...

Old 06-09-2004, 12:44 PM
drewcoolness99
Elder User
did you cut off the plug in for the harness? I had a friend that did what you did and the wires he didn't use were grounding out.

Old 06-09-2004, 03:19 PM
Fordyo
New User
Here goes

Rice H8R, How did you connect it to the battery? Do you only have to hook it to the positive end or do you have to somehow hook it to both the positive and the neg? I have never heard of hooking cd players straight to the battery but it sounds good to me. If you could just give me an idea of how you did it that would be great! Thanks a lot for your help!!!!!!

Old 06-09-2004, 03:45 PM
RICE H8R
Elder User