Ford vs The Competition Technical discussion and comparison ONLY. Trolls will not be tolerated.

IFS good or bad?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 12:37 AM
aspork42
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IFS good or bad?

so yeah, i am new to ford trucks, have owned 3 3/4 chevy trucks, but lately i have noticed this whole IFS thing under your guys 4x4 trucks and was wondering a few things about it. the one i am talking about is the one that looks like a straight front axle from a first glance, until you get up close and check it out.

here are my questions:

A: how strong is it? i talked to a guy who said he has done some mile rockcrawling in cali with it and never broke a u-joint.

B: general opinions on it - i know a guy with a 97-250 power stroke lifted about 5 inches, and he says he cant get the tires on camber, they lean in and are eating the rubber. he says he hates it and is gunna convert to a straight axle, i told him he was dumb. is there a camber kit to fix this? it seems like there should be.

C: do a lot of people strive to have this IFS in their trucks?

the reason i like it is i know that with the a-arm style IFS that chevy uses has the CV joints which are fin until you lift them, and they wear out quickly.
also, the point at which the arm hinges. the a-arm style is only like 18 inches long, and the ford IFS 4x4 front axle hinges from on the other side of the truck centerline. this seems like a smoother ride, and easier on tire sidewalls.

so any input would be appreciated, thanks

Old 04-05-2004, 06:18 AM
jeb
Elder User
The ford SD's don't have IFS. They have solid, straight "live" axles. I prefer the IFS I had/have in our GM trucks to the live axle, personally. But I don't lift my trucks or go rock crawling. The live axle may be better for that kind of use.

Old 04-05-2004, 09:30 AM
MJD
Elder User