General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Electric dryer heater element replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2004, 10:14 AM
cjben
Lead Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Electric dryer heater element replacement?

Ok, for starters I have never worked on any kind of appliance before,so this will be a new experience for me if I do it. A friend of mine has a hotpoint dryer that doesn't get hot any more. would this be the heater element,and how hard is it to replace?what does a heater element look like? how hard to replace? I have the model# and looked it up on the GE website,but the model #'s listed on the website didn't go back that far. will it be hard to find parts for this dryer? thanks for any advice,Ben

Old 03-15-2004, 10:18 AM
Andysutt
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've replaced a few on an old dryer we had.
Call up GE and ask for the part, or call a local appliance repair shop and see if they can get the part.

Old 03-15-2004, 10:35 AM
reever
Elder User
Not a hard replacement. Looks like a big toaster element!!

Go to local appliance part store. They will have exactly what you are looking for.

More than likeley, one of the elements broke due to heating/ cooling/ heating etc. They always break eventually.

Old 03-15-2004, 11:23 AM
cjben
Lead Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts