Up-grading a 460 with Little $$$$

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2004, 09:59 PM
robertr
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
460 rehab .... what upgrades get the most torque for the lowest $??

I'm new to working on a 460. I just got a used 73 with a C6 automatic, and will install this in my 41 Ford COE. I want to have the engine perform well for low end torque, and highway cruising. Are there some "best" choices for upgrading from stock for this idea without busting the bank account?? I do plan on a solid rebuild on the core motor and heads, along with upgrading the oil pump, etc. I'm mainly interested in what cam, manifold, carb, and ignition will serve best. This is not going to be a race rig obviously .... just a good solid cruiser and rod meet truck. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Bob in Spokane

Old 03-09-2004, 08:35 AM
fordtrkpuller
FTE *******
Good cam for a tourque engine is a Lunati #00096 Cam Grind# BM-II Serial# MSFO-3761

Cam Specs
Ex Opens 49 Deg BBDC Ex Closes –5 ATDC
Intake Opens 0 Deg BTDC Intake Closes 34 Deg ABDC
Duration @ 0.050” 214 Deg Intake/ 224 Deg Exhaust
Adertised Duration 280 Deg Intake / 290 Deg. Exhaust
Lift @ Valve Is 0.516”

This cam on a .030" over 460 of mine with a factory SCJ iron intake and a holley 4160 vac secondary 750 cfm carb made over 400 ft lb of tq from about 1500 to 3800 rpm (At the rear wheels), as well as 304 HP (at the rear wheels). It was with D0VE heads and MPG port plates on the exhaust. This is all with factory iron SCJ intake and truck exhaust manifolds.

The following year I changed to headers and a Stealth SCJ intake port matched to the heads, and got a bigger cam from Scott Main (Cam Research Corp.) and added almost 90 hp, and over 110 ft/lb of tourque.

Good place to start out if you want to take steps is to:
1: Recurve the Distributor as per http://www.reincarnation-automotive....ons_index.html

2) Swap the intake for a stealth, and dump the factory carb for a Holley 4150, 4160, or 4150HP (No choke).