Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2004, 12:01 PM
wray@fordtruck
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dead F250 5.0L

My 1990 F250 5.0L EFI will not start.
I am a novice mechanic but have determined
that there is no fuel injector activation.
Wiring checks good. I have 12V on one lead
to ground and about 10V on the other. It
does not move an analog meter toward 0V
when the engine is cranked.
I can't tell if the Engine Control Module is
bad or some input to it is keeping it from
activating the injectors.
Help !

Old 03-02-2004, 12:14 PM
jj292
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am not sure what you mean. Is the engine turning over just not starting? If so the first thing I would suggest would be to check all the relays. Specificaly the high presure fuel pump relay. In my experience they are most often the cause of a no start situation.

JJ

Old 03-02-2004, 12:47 PM
wray@fordtruck
New User
JJ,
I could hear the fuel pumps run when the ignition is turned on but I replaced the fuel pump relay anyway. No luck, so I tried depressing the pin in the Shrader valve and fuel squirts out (I don't have a pressure tester).
I'm sorry my description was not very clear, I don't know exactly how to word it. What I was trying to describe is that there is power to the fuel injectors but no pulse.

Old 03-02-2004, 12:57 PM
EPNCSU2006
Lead Driver
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
If you are measuring voltage on the 12V side of the injector, there will be no pulsing. The computer turns the ground on and off to fire the injectors. Do you know for sure that you are getting good spark?

Old 03-02-2004, 01:06 PM
wray@fordtruck
New User
There is no pulse on either injector wire. I went one step farther a few minutes ago and grounded the lower voltage side through a current limiting resistor and I could hear the injectors click.