Aerostar Ford Aerostar

How to tell if I have Premium sound system?

Old 01-10-2004, 01:59 PM
Extreme_172001
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to tell if I have Premium sound system?

I have a 95 Aerostar and was wondering how i can tell if I have the optional premium sound system or not. I have a casette player and radio as well as rear controls for the rear passanger. The stock radio display went out and I want to replace it with an aftermarket CD player. My second question is how do i remove the stock radio? Thanks

Old 01-10-2004, 08:00 PM
aerostarman2002
Senior User
Well, that is difficult to say.

I don't know of a sure way to tell if you have the premium sound system or not.

However, I have been working with sound systems for a few years now, and have picked up some good info over that time. I installed an aftermarket cdplayer in my Aerostar.. Wasn't all that hard. After install see if the sound cracks, if so you will have to run new speaker wires to your speakers. I think a few other people know how to disable the factory amp so that you can ise the factory wiring.

To get the old radio out you can a) go to almost any parts store and buy the removal tool for like 5dollars. or b) take it to a ford dealer, they removed mine free, in two different vehicles.

To install the new one you need to buy a wiring harness adapter to connect to your factory wiring harness. theese are usually around ten dollars, and the easiest place to find one would be walmart. If you order from crutchfield they will supply all the stuff you need for free.

We bought radio, 2 4" dash speakers, 2 Pioneer 6x9's for the rears, and 2 bass blockers for the dash. Came from crutchfield with the brackets to install the dash speakers (which will be VERY hard to find ANYWHERE else, I know form expierience), plus it came with the wiring adapter.