Sponsored by:

drum first timer

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2004, 08:35 PM
merkstang
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
drum first timer

I did my rear drums a month ago and I have had no problems.... Went to the Ford dealer to get it inspected and they said I installed the brakes wong... I put the primary on the secondary and visa versa. Is this true??? I dont remember there being a difference but its been a while.... And Im new to the rear drum thing.

thanks

they also didnt like my headlights... I smoke tinted them so it looks better with the ALL black.... I dont see much of a difference at night, but they wouldnt pass it
see gallery pics

Old 01-04-2004, 10:12 PM
ANdrewdrice
Elder User
your first problem, taking it to the dealer. All the want is money. as for the brakes, i always do mine and I even use a haynes/chiltom manual to look at, and I have NEVER seen anything about primary vs. secondary. I dont know what to tell you. maybe buy a haynes and look it up?

Old 01-05-2004, 06:43 AM
merkstang
Senior User
well I took it to another place and asked them about the headlights and they said NO problem they will pass them. I wanted to check the brakes out and didnt feel good over the weekend and it never got done so Its getting inspected again today and Ill see what This shop says about the brakes, I dont think there is anything wrong but Hey Im not perfect and maybe I didn screw it up.

Old 01-05-2004, 09:18 AM
steell
Senior User
Primary shoe (the front one) is normally shorter (length of friction lining) than the rear. So, if you have the long one on the front side, you do indeed have them reversed

Steve

Old 01-05-2004, 09:19 AM
BillyBob69
Lead Driver

Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts