1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

2008 Ranger Chime doesn't work (ding-ding-ding not dinging))

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2019, 06:15 PM
dbbberry
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 Ranger Chime doesn't work (ding-ding-ding not dinging))

Hi, I'm brand new to FTE. My first post ever....
My truck is a 2008 bare bones Ranger-I bought it brand new from the dealer all those years ago and it was the cheapest one he had at any of his locations. Flash forward to today and I still love my Ranger... But there is a new problem that brings me to you guys.

My chime stopped working. My truck used to ding at me for a variety of reasons such as seat belt not on, headlights on with no key in ignition, etc.. At first, the chime was intermittent. When I say that, I mean either it would ding-ding perfectly for a few days but then stop dinging the following day(s) - nothing but dead silence. These days the chime doesn't work at all.

I have no reason to believe that faulty switches, wiring, critical computer or electronic functions are the problem. For example, in the past if I or a passenger didn't put on a seat belt the instrument cluster seat belt light would come on and the truck would ding-ding-ding. These days if that were to happen the light comes on but there is no dinging.

The critical ding feature that brings my question to you is that the Ranger used to ding at me if I parked, took my keys out of the ignition but my headlights were on. I'd proceed to exit the Ranger but it would just ding-ding-ding-ding-ding!!!! Stupid me would realize my headlights are on. I'd turn the headlights off and the dinging would stop. I got spoiled rotten with that feature. It's not a problem at night because I can clearly see my headlights are on, but during cloudy/rainy days or morning twilight I turn my headlights on. I don't even think about it, my muscle memory makes me switch on the headlights. I feel safer that way - best to see and be seen.