Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Intake and exhaust mod's for 1986 6.9L

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 07:15 AM
donn
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Intake and exhaust mod's for 1986 6.9L

I've spent hours reading this forum since I bought a 1986 F250, 6.9L, standard cab. I've visited dozens of websites looking for intake and exhaust mods which fit this truck, and keep coming up against the same thing...it's all for newer trucks.

I'm not a mechanic, so I'm looking for better-than-stock air intake systems and exhaust systems I can buy and take to my wrench for installation.

I'm not interested in stacks, turbo or anything which will drastically alter the look of the truck. I just want it to inhale and exhale a bit better.

Any suggestions of sources for these mods would be greatly appreciated.

Old 07-06-2007, 08:02 AM
Jim Allen
Elder User
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Dynomax makes a relatively inexpensive 4-inch exhaust system for the NA trucks (part # 19429). From there, a free flow intake with a ducted cool air intake (you'll have to build that, Banks took their NA Stinger kit off the market) and turning up the pump just a skosh will add a bit of power. Take the time to carefully search this forum and you will find a bevy of good advice and inspiration.

To be honest, anything less than a turbo kit is a waste of money. Nothing will give you more in one big lump than a turbo... at least in a form you can live with day to day. MPG will also tend to bump up. Remember the old adage...

"There's no excuse for a naturally aspirated diesel!"

Start saving now!

Old 07-06-2007, 08:38 AM
donn
New User
Jim..thanks for that Dynomax part#. I found it at Walker for $339.

Are you saying this kit won't do the truck any good, that the stock exhaust system is just as good?

I'm not necessarily interested in more power. So far, it seems to have plenty. I'm looking to preserve an engine which only has 42k miles.

Old 07-06-2007, 09:43 AM