M5od linkage

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2003, 03:37 AM
Archael
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
M5od linkage

ok i've got a bum 92 f-150 flareside parked in my yard. 5 speed will pull the truck but first and second are not engaging. There's no grinding when i put it in those gears and when you slide the shifter up and down between those gears it is similar to the feeling of just side to side in neutral. I've taken the top panel off the transmission and am inspecting the shifting rails and the forks. I've had problems in the past with this part where i ground the shifting forks down so far that they weren't putting the trans all the way in gear. Is there an obvious fix that i'm missing being's im not a mechanic. Can i just buy a new top side shifter rail fork assembly and put it on my transmission or should there be more that is wrong and would be causing my problem. My mechanic seems to think the only way to fix a transmission is to replace it with one that works. That route cost me about $1200 last time and i'm not gonna do that again.

Also i read in one place this transmission is a M5OD and in another that it's a M5R2...which one is it. It's a 92 flareside 4X4 with a 302. IF i have to replace whole components what will fit . I"m very interested in upgrading and have heard good comments about the ZF transmissions. what's involved with the switch....i know I know...search...but i'm lazy i'll search in the morning i'm just asking if it is a feasible swap.

Thanks in advance.

Old 09-17-2003, 12:34 AM
Archael
Freshman User
M5od linkage

Nobody???? BUMP

Old 09-18-2003, 12:33 AM
Archael
Freshman User
M5od linkage

thanks...a bunch...really

Old 09-18-2003, 10:18 PM
mattg
Junior User
M5od linkage