1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Newbie here and would like some input on my (new to me) 03 F250 7.3L....

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2017, 02:43 PM
L-ight
More Turbo
Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
Newbie here and would like some input on my (new to me) 03 F250 7.3L....

Hello guys. I have been in the car scene for over a decade. Have owned two LT1 camaros and two vettes (C5Z and a C6Z). I have now stumbled into trucks (diesel). So my dad sold me his 2003 F250 7.3L 2WD Lariat. Great shape. Only had 68k miles on it. Now I have a few mods I would like to do to get it to my liking....

Dad told me it has a very small oil leak. Maybe a drop or two every week or so. Also the IRP sensor has oil on it. Pictures below.

Now the IRP sensor (iirc the name) seems pretty straight forward to replace. The oil pan gasket is what worries me. I got some quotes and they have ranged from $1500 to $2000. Someone mentioned to me that since it is such a tiny leak that I could possibly add some type of sealant that could possibly fix that small leak and I won't have to worry for another 50k miles or so. Would it be ideal to try that sealant first since in the mechanic world always start out with the least amount of money that can possibly fix the problem. OR should I really consider taking it in and getting that leak fixed? Let me add that recently I have noticed that when I sometimes start the truck the windows/door locks/radio won't work for a min. I also found at that when my gf pulled the passenger visor down and lowered the mirror door it cut the radio/windows/door locks off as well. Any idea to that?