1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

high speed vibration related to steering box??

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2017, 09:39 PM
tbear56657
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
high speed vibration related to steering box??

hello all i recently presssed in new ball joints on both sides and now i have a decently bad vibration at speeds over 70 and also it feels like my truck is wandering back and forth randomly on its own. from what ive read a bad steering box would cause the wander but would it also cause the vibration? also i thought it was a little fishy that the steering box went bad right when i changed the ball joints, so im thinking maybe its not the steering box and something i did during install of bj's any help would be greatly appreciated

2000 7.3l 272,000
142inch wheelbase rear drive shaft recently balanced and u-joints are solid on it
any help would be greatly appreciated

PS im new to making threads commenting etc. still havent figured out why i cant put a signature up

Old 03-23-2017, 12:05 PM
knottyrope
Lead Driver
Received 874 Likes on 665 Posts
ball joints, tie rods, steering box, suspension bushings and low tire pressure can do the wandering

vibration can be fun to figure out but a alignment usually cures it unless you have a bad tire, warped rotor, stuck caliper, worn carrier bearing or sagging rubber that take it out of alignment

Old 03-23-2017, 12:07 PM
helifixer
Lead Driver
Received 3,692 Likes on 1,134 Posts
improper installation of ball joints will cause hard steering causing the power steering to fight is making truck wander

Old 03-23-2017, 01:21 PM
hydro man 17
Posting Guru
Also I believe that any time you mess with the front end an alignment is in order.

Old 03-23-2017, 02:42 PM
Big Black Dually
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Similar Issues

Originally Posted by tbear56657