Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

6.9 IDI Podunk retired ambulance

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2017, 03:43 PM
640rider
5th Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6.9 IDI Podunk retired ambulance

Being the new boy on the block I'd probably be best opening with a mention of appreciation to the forum members as lurking here and other forums has been very educational and helpful.

As for myself, I'm basically a tune up mechanic with a somewhat limited arsenal of tools at my disposal and diesels are a new ball game for me. I'm the "you hear that?" type with gas engines and a long time friend was shocked to come to the realization I had actually bought a diesel powered vehicle, he's about sold on the thought the 6.9 could very well be my self inflicted mental demise.

As a business/pleasure venture I didn't research well enough I bought into a 1987 E350 XL van cutaway ambulance with a NA 6.9 that I am lead to believe doesn't even have 80K miles clock yet, all indications say the odometer hasn't flipped over yet by my assessment. Insurance overhead expense for a 7,200 pound vehicle put the skids to the small business end so the ulterior motive of the toy hauler RV are the eventual intention although it has been hunting and camping already.
Youtube link >

Likely as the norm I'd guess, I do come loaded with questions about the IDIs and would appropriate opinions, creative criticism, and blastfimist banter.

My guess is I'm running rich, tossing money out the tail pipe in other words.

Without an exhaust temp gauge I'm fearful of any fuel adjustments myself, so would a shop still be able to dial my lift pump or injection pump as best applicable?