1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Help 84 F150 351W constantly snubbing out

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2017, 04:12 PM
superzero220
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help 84 F150 351W constantly snubbing out

I have an 84' F-150 with a 351W and a Motorcraft 2150 Carb. I have been experiencing issues since I got the truck. The engine runs great at idle (set a little high) from cold start, but if i turn it off at the gas pump, I can't make it more than 3 feet without being towed. I thought it was a choke issue, so I adjusted the choke and even with the engine warm, if I open the choke even a crack, the truck just dies. I am an absolute NOVICE when it comes to anything before fuel injection. I am at a complete loss. Even something that seems basic knowledge would be appreciated. I'm missing something.

What I've already done:
*Rebuilt Carb
*Changed Distributor Cap
*Changed Distributor Rotor
*Removed/Reinstalled the Rebuilt Carb with some RTV on the paper gaskets to ensure a good seal (I let it cure for 2 days before starting it up.

Old 03-17-2017, 07:14 PM
LARIAT 85
Cargo Master
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
The choke should be completely open when the engine is warm. It's very common for the choke tubes to be rusted away on a 34 year old truck.

The first thing you need to understand is what you are working with. Or *should* be working with. Your 1984 F150 with a Motorcraft 2150 carburetor (great carburetor) came from Ford with a feedback system. In other words, you have a computer on your truck that controls the ignition timing, emissions, and to a lesser extent, the air/fuel mixture at the carburetor. Think of it as a "bridge" between traditional mechanical carbureted systems and electronic fuel injection. Like EFI, if ALL of the components aren't on your truck and functioning properly, your truck will never run right.