1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Pinging

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2003, 08:18 PM
rob belore
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pinging

Just curious if there is anyone else with this problem. My 2002 supercrew w/4.6 auto,very low mileage around 15000 mi, has an extremely annoying ping that starts at about 30 mph and hangs around until about 40 45 mph. Also if I listen very closely at highway speeds I can hear it then as well. The truck has been to service several times, they tried changing the octane settings, changed the mass air, I have tried every grade and brand of fuel I can find, I do not tow with it and have been told that,"there is nothing wrong with your truck sir we can't hear anything" I am not a mechanic but have been around cars and engines all my life and I firmly believe that there is something wrong, a $30,000 vehicle should not make this noise...EVER!

Old 06-20-2003, 09:16 AM
Racerguy
Hotshot
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Pinging

Hi Rob and welcome to FTE

Has it done this since new or has it gotten worse?
Is it only under load?
Have you compared it to another truck that is the same?

Old 06-20-2003, 05:31 PM
rob belore
New User
Pinging

Originally posted by rob belore