1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

AZAV8s 1948 F1 Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2017, 09:25 AM
AZAV8
More Turbo
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
AZAV8s 1948 F1 Build Thread

Well I've been hanging out here since 2006, so I guess its past time I started my build thread. I have a 1948 F1 I bought from an ex-body shop owner who was tired of the project and wanted to clean out his garage. I found it posted on the So-Cal Arizona for sale bulletin board. I bought it and hauled it home withe help of my brother-in-law with his diesel truck and heavy equipment trailer. I guess some brothers-in-law are nice guys when they share your love of trucks.

I'm quite a ways into the complete tear down and total rebuild of making this truck a hot rod so it will take a little bit to catch you up on the progress. I'll post pictures and add a link to this thread to the members build thread to help keep track of things. Things like changing jobs, retirement, house remodeling and family stuff slow me down; but I'm making "good" progress along the way, with help from experienced craftsmen and this forum. I do as much as I can myself; but I know my limits so I have farmed out the really important stuff to a good shop I use.

To give you some details, Ford 427 Windsor crate motor, 4R70W automatic transmission, independent front suspension, parallel leaf rear suspension, Ford 9 inch rear end, stock body sheetmetal. To keep track of everything I have a 25 page spreadsheet of all of the parts and cost. I have to keep updating the spreadsheet so it continues to grow.

Enough talk for now, so here are some pictures.

Truck on my brother-in-laws trailer.

Off load of the truck.

Ford 302 smog motor with C4 automatic.

So thanks for listening and I hope to be of some help to you all. I have already used some information from here so it is time to give back.

Philip, also known as AZAV8

Old 01-26-2017, 05:52 PM
Rimrock F1