1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 f250 5.4l cranks but wont start

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2017, 07:10 PM
rob kuhn
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 f250 5.4l cranks but wont start

hello, i'm new to this so;

Six months ago i had a "crank but not start issue" so I replaced the FPDM and it started fine until recently. It was intermittent and i could not find a pattern. Sometimes it would start right up and other times up to 4-5 start attempts. I could hear when the fuel pump was energizing. Once it was started it would run fine with no stalling at all. The following is what i've done so far to try to fix the problem. i changed out the battery, i found some wiring diagrams and had to decipher the right one for my truck. i then thought to see if there was voltage at the inertia switch in the passenger kick plate. I was not getting voltage to the switch when i turned the key to "ON" as i should have to energize the pump prior to starting. Turned the key off and tried again, this time i would get 12v, truck would start and i would see 14.6v so i knew the alternator was working. That lead me to the PCM relay(s) in the fuse panel under the steering wheel. the relays were clicking when i turned the key to "ON" but truck wouldn't start. I swapped the two relays OEM 5C3T-14B192-AA and truck started 4 times in a row. Boy i hope all i need is a new relay, any suggestions?

Old 01-03-2017, 10:13 PM
Pocketlint
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
First off have you tried replacing the fuel filter that is on the frame rail? It may have been clogged up with junk, it is cheap to replace I would check that and then give it a try.

Then I would go and grab some starting fluid spray Take it and squirt the fluid into the intake and crank the motor. If she fires and the truck runs,the problem is in the fuel system So onto the next step