1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

ASAP HELP Ford 1993 E-350

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2016, 01:14 PM
556 NATO
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ASAP HELP Ford 1993 E-350

Hello,
I'm new here. I hope I'm not breaking any rules by posting here first and not some where else. Oh well, sorry if I am.
Any ways. I'm trying to get a Christmas present for my Dad. I'm wanting to get some wheels for his Ford 1993 E-350 Econoline 1 ton. He has been having problems finding wheels that have a large enough center hole. I'm wanting to buy wheels used. But I'm pretty new to all the wheel stuff. Kinda know my way around a vehicle. A little put off by how complicated buying wheels can be though.
So what exactly are the specs I need to know before I buy wheels? I've been seeing this "8 x 170 standard bolt pattern" thrown around on craigslist. Don't know what it means. I'm guessing that the 8 means 8 bolt.
I'm sorry but I'm very new to this.
And do I have to buy wheels for 1993 fords... or will all 16 inch 8 bolt E-350 FORD wheels fit on my Dads van?

Thank you very much!

556 NATO

Old 12-15-2016, 01:52 PM
Sam I Am
Posting Guru
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
8 X 170 mm means 8 lugs in a circle 170mm in diameter.
That is the bolt pattern for Super Duty truck wheels which will not fit a van.

All the 8 lug vans with single rear wheels (as opposed to 2 wheels on each side) use 8 X 6.5" bolt pattern. So pretty much any 8 lug Ford van wheels will work, and any pre 97 8 lug Ford wheels will work as long as they are not dually wheels which have wrong offset for a single wheel application so they will not fit correctly.
GM & Dodge 8 lugs use a smaller center hole (center bore diameter) so wheels made to fit those trucks will usually not fit onto a Ford axle.
Tire selection for 16.5" wheels isn't as plentiful so you will usually want to stay away from those for street use.

Old 12-15-2016, 07:57 PM
556 NATO
New User