Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2016, 11:22 AM
shortbus commando
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
burning massive amounts of oil

Hey guys need a little help here.
I'm new to diesels and I've got a 2002 F-350 w/7.3L 224K miles
I've had it for about a year and had no problems. Burned a little oil, about a quart every 1000 miles or so, but in the last two weeks it's gone through the roof. I have gone through roughly 12 quarts in 300 miles. I see a lot of blue smoke at start up, and it's being harder and harder to start in the cold. From what I've read it could be several different things, and I plan on doing the CCV delete and changing the orings on the injectors just for good measure. Is there anything else that I might check as well, or am I completely off base on what it might be? ANy help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-06-2016, 03:50 PM
BigBlockF350
Posting Guru
Oh wow...that's a lot of oil. If I had to take a shot at the problem without looking at the truck I'd probably say check out the turbo first. That's the only place I can see that much oil disappearing all of a sudden like that.

As far as the regular oil consumption before this, have you checked to see if the motor has any/much blowby?

How does it run and idle?

Old 12-06-2016, 04:45 PM
RV_Tech
Hotshot
Received 456 Likes on 310 Posts
Are you sure you are not leaking it? Burning that much oil you should see a blue haze when you are driving. Nothing in the valley?

Old 12-06-2016, 06:53 PM
Chuck's First Ford
Postmaster
Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
agreed.. that is a lot of oil NOT to see it in the rear view mirror... ( blue smoke )

High pressure leak going down the road... but not when idling or driving slow.
check all lines, hoses, gaskets.

Old 12-06-2016, 07:47 PM
droldsmorland
Posting Guru
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts