Advice on fe 360 rebuild.

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2016, 01:39 PM
Ohiofarmboy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice on fe 360 rebuild.

Hello everyone, my name is Gavin McLaughlin, and I am new to ford motors and fords in general. I've recently made a deal with my father to purchase his 1975 f250 4x4. the truck has a bone stock fe 360 and c6 transmission. I am planning on restoring the truck to daily driver condition and it will be driven regularly and used to haul a 20' gooseneck livestock trailer. being new to fords I have some questions. from what I've been able to gather I understand that the 360 is a dependable motor, but otherwise less than desirable. with what I'm planning to use the truck for I was wondering what my best option is. Is it possible to rebuild a 360 so that it makes decent power and will accomplish the tasks I plan to use it for without difficulty? Or would I just be wasting my time and money? I know I can make it into a 390 by changing the rotating assembly, would this be the better option? Im not worried about making big horsepower, and I realize that any carburated motor from thst era probably isnt going to get the best gas mileage. the motor as it sits now will turn over and fire, and I'm sure it will start with some tinkering, but as I plan to rebuild the rest of the truck, I plan on rebuilding the engine at the same time. I look forward to any advice yout may have, and thank everybody in advance for it.

Old 11-28-2016, 05:17 PM
jowilker
Fleet Owner

Received 46 Likes on 44 Posts
Ohiofarmboy Welcome to and the FE engine Forum.

The FE engine is the bull family for towing. Don't know zackly what you are asking, but building it out to a 390 or adding a RV cam and a little more compression and you should have an awesome setup. The 360 was from back when the emissions thing started. It basically is a 390 block running a 352 rotating system. A lot has changed since the beginning.