2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I Buy this Truck?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2016, 02:04 PM
Tyrone_White
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I Buy this Truck?

2004 FORD F-150 4X4 5.4L, 175,000 miles. Does not burn or leak oil, no other serious defects, problems or issues. Work truck.

Found this on Craigslist. It's within my budget. I need a work-truck and I like Fords.

Talked to the Owner today. He owns two auto repair shops, but is not a mechanic, and says the only serious problem with the truck is that the "Phasers" are bad. Did a little bit of research and it appears the repair options are a wide range between moderate to very expensive. I can do some repairs, but I'm not a mechanic and have some tools, but not a full compliment of mechanics tools. I'd have to buy any special tools needed, do not own a torque wrench or one of those hand-held diagnostic computers, but I did successfully replace a warped head on a Mitsubishi Mighty Max, with only a Haynes Manual (no Youtube videos) back in the day.

http sanantonio.craigslist.org/cto/5866213424.html

That's his ad.

Says the truck's engine has 175K miles on it, and he's asking $3,600. Doesn't burn oil, doesn't leak oil, and no other major problems, defects or issues.

I can't decide if this Phaser problem is something easy that I can fix and get a good deal, or if it's an expensive deal-breaker.

Old 11-10-2016, 06:24 PM
macubus
Freshman User
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
I guess the answer is maybe? First of all, if it is indeed phasers, the noise should go away at 1200 RPM. If it continues after that, then it is a bad roller follower, which means the cam is also likely trashed.

I picked up an 06 with supposedly this issue for 5960.00 and so provided the body is good, and it really is phasers, it's a good deal in my book.