1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

2002 7.3L Crank, No Start (lots of parts thrown at it)

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2016, 12:51 PM
Derka1
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 7.3L Crank, No Start (lots of parts thrown at it)

New member here! To start off, I have done a lot of research on this forum, but haven't quite found what i needed in any of the old threads, so i figured i'd ask. I would appreciate any help, as i cant figure out this problem alone.

I am fairly new to powerstrokes (toyota guy), but have a general understanding how the 7.3l operates, and how the fuel system works.

The problem i am experiencing is a crank, no start. The truck has been great for the year and a half that i have owned it. Always cranked great and never any starting or running issues. One day upon cranking, i started the motor; it started normal running good for a minute until the motor suddenly started shuttering and then the motor shut off, happened rather quickly. The truck started up immediately after that and died....repeating the shutter until dead. Now the truck will not start.

Specs on truck:
2002 7.3l
230,000 miles
Manual transmission

Here's what i have replaced so far:
New parts include:
IPR (motorcraft)
ICP (motorcraft)
EBPV (napa)
CPS (napa)
IDM (reman)

Here are some of the diagnostic values i have collected during cranking: (FYI: i am a little confused on what the values mean and what they should be in order for the motor to start):
ICP: 2218 psi
ICP duty cycle: 41%
EBP: 265 kpa
battery voltage: 12.0
Rpm: 355

Things i have checked so far:
Oil is new and level is good.
WTS light cycles as normal.
Fuel bowl is full and over flows with cap off while cranking.
Fuel tank is above half.
Glow plug relay is good.
I was throwing a code for the PCM, but i removed the bully dog tuner and the code has since cleared.
HPOP oil is an inch below full.
I made a gauge set and dead headed HPOP yielding 1500psi.